For Immediate Release
April 24, 2019
Arizona bans cellphone use while driving
Arizona Chapter National Safety Council is very proud to announce that Arizona has officially banned hand-held cellphone use while behind the wheel. Governor Doug Ducey signed the bill into law Monday.
“Let’s send a message that that text message can wait. It’s not worth your life,” Ducey said before signing the measure. This action will promote an increase in defensive driving and allow for more people to make it home safely to their families.
“ACNSC is proud to be part of the coalition that worked tirelessly to get this law passed, said Rick Murray, President of the Arizona Chapter of the National Safety Council. We commend the Governor for making this legislation a priority which will ultimately save the lives of countless Arizona citizens,” Rick shared.
Arizona is the 48th state to ban texting and the 18th to ban cellphone use while driving.
While the law doesn’t go into effect until January 2021, a warning will be issued by authorities in order to inform every one of the new law. A first violation would result in a ticket of between $75 and $150. A second violation would be a ticket of up to $250.
Drivers can use their phones at stoplights and when their vehicle is parked. Drivers are also allowed to use their phones in an emergency.
For More Information: